Colorado is one of the states in the US that has legalized recreational marijuana. But what about other psychedelic drugs like LSD? Is LSD legal in Colorado? In this article, we will explore psychedelic drug laws in Colorado and answer the question.

TL;DR

  • No, LSD is illegal in Colorado
  • Simple use of LSD is a level 2 drug misdemeanor punishable by a fine or jail time ⚠️
  • Possession, sale and manufacture of LSD are subject to harsh penalties ️👮

Is LSD Legal in Colorado Now?

At first glance, you might think that acid might be legal in Colorado. After all, cannabis is now widely available for recreational use in the state. But is LSD legal in Colorado? The answer is no – Colorado law prohibits the use, possession, manufacture and sale of LSD as it’s a Schedule 1 drug. 

Is LSD Legal in Colorado Now?

This means you can’t legally obtain, take or sell LSD in the state, and are subject to fines and possible jail time if you’re caught using or possessing this hallucinogenic drug. Keep reading for more information about the penalties.

PSYCHEDELICS, TRANSCENDENCE and SPIRITUALITY

Penalties for LSD Crimes

Drug crimes are divided into misdemeanors and felonies. Is LSD legal in Colorado? No, and here are the different levels of offenses related to it:

  • Simple use of LSD is a level 2 drug misdemeanor. The penalty can be up to 12 months in county jail and/or $50–$750 in fines. Alternatively, the user can be put on probation for up to 12 months and only spend 120 days in jail, if the court rules that is sufficient.
  • Possession of under 4 grams of LSD is a level 1 drug misdemeanor. The convict will typically spend 6–18 months in jail and/or pay $500–$5,000 in fines. Probation can be imposed instead, shortening the jail time and reducing the fine.
  • If you possess more than 4 grams of LSD, or if you’re convicted for possession for the 4th time, it’s a level 4 drug felony. This carries 6–12 months in prison plus 12 months of parole and/or a fine between $1,000 and $100,000.
  • Distribution, manufacture and sale of LSD are always felonies in Colorado. You could serve 2 years in prison or more, and pay thousands of dollars in fines.

Storming Heaven: LSD and the American Dream

Can You Avoid Jail Time After Conviction?

It is possible to avoid jail time for an LSD conviction in Colorado. Some first-time offenders may be able to get their sentence reduced or postponed if they undergo a drug education or counseling program. This is not an automatic process and is granted at the discretion of the judge.

See also:  Mixing LSD and Shrooms (Psilocybin) | Psychedelic Substances

Similar laws apply to other psychedelic drugs, such as MDMA. So is LSD legal in Colorado? The short answer is no – this psychoactive drug is prohibited in the state, and is subject to penalties if you’re caught using or distributing it.

FAQs About Drug Laws and Criminal Defense

What Drug Is Legal in Colorado?

Colorado has legalized marijuana. Adults over the age of 21 have been able to buy cannabis products from authorized shops and use them recreationally starting of 2020. The laws governing marijuana use differ from city to city, so it’s crucial to familiarize oneself with local statutes. Other substances like LSD and MDMA are prohibited.

The Acid Diaries: A Psychonaut’s Guide to the History and Use of LSD

What Are Schedule 3 Drugs in Colorado?

In Colorado, ketamine, anabolic steroids, barbiturates, and medications with small amounts of codeine are all categorized as Schedule 3. Although they have a recognized medicinal purpose, incorrect use of them can result in addiction. Remember that it’s illegal to possess those drugs without a valid prescription.

What Is a Level 2 Drug Felony in Colorado?

Selling or distributing chemicals, materials, or equipment to manufacture drugs is a level 2 drug felony in Colorado. For example, it’s illegal to sell tableting machines with the intent of helping customers produce controlled substances like LSD.

What Is a Schedule 1 & 2 Drug in Colorado?

Schedule 1 drugs are heroin and LSD. Schedule 2 drugs include opium, codeine, and methamphetamine.

How Much Coke Is a Felony in Colorado?

Possessing more than 4 grams of cocaine for sale is already a felony in Colorado. Even less than that and without the intent of sale can be a 4 level felony if you intend to consume it all with another person.

See also:  LSD Powder – About Lysergic Acid Diethylamide Sold as a White Powder

Similar Posts: