The State of Texas is known for its strict drug laws. Is LSD illegal in Texas just like psilocybin? And what penalties can you expect if you’re caught with a controlled substance? Find the answers to these questions and more below.

TL;DR

  • Yes, LSD is illegal in Texas 🚫
  • Possessing, manufacturing or selling LSD is punishable by fines and jail/prison ⚠️
  • The drug belongs to Penalty Group 1, which means it’s a substance with a high potential for abuse and people can face harsh penalties for having it 👮

Can You Use Psychedelics in Texas?

In Texas, it’s generally illegal to use any type of psychedelic or hallucinogenic substance, including LSD, MDMA and magic mushrooms. However, if you have already consumed a psychedelic and a drug test detects it, you cannot be criminally charged unless you have committed another crime while under the influence of the substance.

Being caught using LSD is a different story. If the drug has been in your possession prior to use, you may be charged with a crime. So is LSD illegal in Texas? Yes, but only the possession, manufacturing or selling of it can be penalized, not the fact that you have used it.

See also:  Slang for LSD | Examples of Street Names for LSD

If you experience side effects of LSD, you can seek medical help without worrying about being prosecuted. But if the police decide to search your home or vehicle and find evidence of LSD possession, you may face prosecution.

Editor’s Advice ✏️

Don’t take the risk of unknowingly breaking Texas laws with LSD or related drugs – get informed! A committed drug defense attorney in your area can provide insight about the potential penalties and legal risks associated, offering an invaluable resource to help keep you safe.

Essays by Psychedelia: A collection of LSD logs

Is LSD Illegal in Texas, Then?

Yes, LSD is illegal in Texas. It belongs to the Penalty Group 1 of illegal drugs, which means it is classified as a drug with the highest potential for abuse. It also belongs to the subgroup 1A, meaning that it’s measured in units corresponding to doses rather than in grams.

The penalties for possession of LSD vary greatly, depending on the amount of the substance. Keep reading for more details.

Is LSD Illegal in Texas, Then?

Penalty Group 1 – What Is the Sentence?

Is LSD illegal in Texas? Now you know that it is. If you’d like to know what the penalties are for possession, here you go:

  • 20 doses or fewer – a state jail felony, 180 days to 2 years in jail.
  • 20–80 doses – a second-degree felony, 2 to 20 years in prison.
  • 80–4,000 doses – a first-degree felony, 5 years to a life sentence.
  • More than 4,000 doses – a first-degree felony, 15 years to a life sentence.

Additional penalties can include fines, employment restrictions, and more. If you are facing charges related to LSD possession, you can contact a criminal defense lawyer to help you determine the next steps. The law firm should be familiar with Texas drug laws, including those on lysergic acid diethylamide.

The Psychotropic Journal: LSD

FAQs About Texas Drug Laws

FAQs About Texas Drug Laws

What Drugs Are Illegal in Texas?

Texas law prohibits the possession of numerous drugs, including but not limited to: cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, GHB, ketamine, oxycodone, hydrocodone, LSD, ecstasy, mescaline, and marijuana. Some prescription drugs like Xanax and Valium are also controlled.

See also:  Sex on LSD | Psychedelic Making Love and Psychonauts

How Many Grams Is a Felony in Texas?

Any amount of a Group 2 drug over 4 grams is charged as a felony. For Group 1 drugs, the weight doesn’t matter – possessing any amount of them is a felony in Texas. The penalties vary by degrees. For example, a third-degree felony is more serious than state jail felony, as the former results in a prison sentence.

What Drugs Are Penalty Group 1 in Texas?

Drugs in Group 1 include powerful opioids like heroin, codeine and hydrocodone; plus intoxicants like cocaine, methamphetamine, ketamine – which provides an out-of-body experience – or hallucinogens from LSD to ‘magic’ mushrooms known for their psychedelic effects.

Psychedelic Mushroom Stickers 50 PCS

Can You Go to Jail for Edibles in Texas?

In Texas, possessing THC edibles can result in serious consequences. Even having less than a gram of these substances is considered a felony punishable by up to two years in state jail. Possession of between one and four grams could land you behind bars for several long years!

 Are There Any Legal Drugs in Texas?

A doctor may legitimately prescribe certain chemicals referred to as “drugs,” in which case you can use them without worrying about legal repercussions. These include painkillers like Vicodin and oxycodone as well as other drugs for mental health conditions or to treat pain.


Similar Posts:
See also:  How to Have a Good LSD Trip and Reduce the Risk of a Bad Trip?